Article: Call and Response…Lest we forget…


Image

Lest we forget…

It seems that an article was written to Sister 2 Sister
 magazine by a Caucasian woman who requested a response from
 black men. 

 
 Dear Jamie:
 I’m sorry but I would like to challenge some of your
 Black male readers.
 
 I am a White female who is engaged to a Black
 male-good-looking, educated and loving. I just don’t
 understand a lot of Black female’s attitudes about our
 relationship.
 
 My man decided he wanted me because the pickings amongst
 Black women were slim to none. As he said they were either too
 fat, too loud, too mean, too argumentative, too needy, too
 materialistic or carrying too much excess baggage.
 
 Before I became engaged, whenever I went out I was
 constantly approached by Black men, willing to wine and dine
 me and give me the world. If Black women are so up in arms
 about us being with their men, why don’t they look at
 themselves and make some changes.
 
 I am tired of the dirty looks I get and snide remarks when
 we’re out in public. I would like to hear from some
 Black men about why we are so appealing and coveted by
 them.
 
 Bryant Gumbel just left his wife of 26 years for one of us
 Charles Barkley, Scottie Pippen, the model Tyson Beckford,
 Montell Williams, Quincy Jones, James Earl Jones, Harry
 Belafonte, Sydney Poitier, Kofi Anan, Cuba Gooding Jr., Don
 Cornelius , Berry Gordy, Billy Blanks, Larry Fishburne,
 Wesley Snipes…
 
 I could go on and on. But, right
  now, I’m a little angry and that is why I wrote this
 so hurriedly. Don’t be mad with us White women because
 so many of your men want us. Get your acts together and
 learn from us and
 we may lead you to treat your men better. If I’m wrong,
 Black men, let me know.
 
 Disgusted White Girl, Somewhere in VA
 
 RESPONSE
 
 Dear Jamie:
 
 I would like to respond to the letter written by A
 Disgusted White Girl.
 
 Let me start by saying that I am a 28-year old black man. I
 graduated from one of the most prestigious universities in
 Atlanta , Georgia with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Business
 Management. I have a good job at a major corporation and
 have recently purchased a house. So, I consider myself to be
 among the ranks of successful black men.
 
 I will not use my precious time to slander white people. I
 just want to set the record straight of why black men date
 white women. Back in the day, one of the biggest reasons why
 black men
  dated white women was because they were considered easy.
 
 The black girls in my neighborhood were raised in the
 church. They were very strict about when they lost their
 virginity and who they lost it to. Because of our impatience
 to wait, brothers would look for someone
 who would give it up easy without too much hassle. So, they
 turned to the white girls.
 
 Nowadays, in my opinion, a lot of brothers date white women
 because they are docile and easy to control. A lot of black
 men, because of insecurities, fears, and overall weaknesses,
 have become intimidated by
 the strength of our black women. We are afraid that our
 woman will be more successful than us, make more money than
 us, drive nicer cars and own bigger houses. Because of this
 fear, many black men look for a more docile woman. Someone
 we can control.
 
 I have talked to numerous black men and they continuously
 comment on how easy it is to control and walk over their
 white
  women. I just want to set the record straight. I want A
 Disgusted White Girl to know that not all successful black
 men date white women.
 
 Brothers like Ahmad Rashad, Denzel Washington, Michael
 Jordan, Morris Chestnut, Will Smith, Blair Underwood,
 Kenneth ‘Babyface’ Edmonds , Samuel L. Jackson, and
 Chris Rock all married strong black women And,to flip the
 script, there are numerous white men, in and out of the
 spotlight, who openly or secretly desire black women over
 white women. Ted Danson, Robert DeNiro, and David Bowie to
 name a few.
 
 I just don’t want a disgusted white girl to be
 misinformed Stop thinking that because you are white that
 you are some type of goddess. Remember, when black Egyptian
 Queens like Hatsepshut and Nitorcris were ruling Dynasties
 and armies of men in Egypt , you were over in the caves of
 Europe eating raw meat and beating each other over the head
 with clubs. Read your history!
 
 It was the black woman that
  taught you how to cook and season your food. It was the
 black woman that taught you how to raise your children. It
 was black women who were breast feeding and raising your
 babies during slavery.
 
 It is the black woman that had to endure watching their
 fathers, husbands, and children beaten, killed, and thrown
 in jail. Black women were born with two strikes against
 them: being black and being a woman.
 And, through all this, Still They Rise!
 
 It is because of the black women’s strength, elegance,
 power, love and beauty that I could never date anyone except
 my black Queen. It is not just the outer beauty that
 captivates and draws me to them. It is not
 the fact that they come in all shapes, sizes, colors and
 shades that I love them.
 
 Their inner beauty is what I find most appealing about
 black women. Their strong spirit, loving and nurturing
 souls, their integrity, their ability to overcome great
 obstacles, their willingness to stand
  for what they believe in, and their determination to
 succeed and reach their highest potential while enduring
 great pain and suffering is why I have fallen in love with
 black women.
 
 I honestly believe that your anger is geared more toward
 jealousy and envy more so than snotty looks. If this were
 not so, then why do you continuously go to tanning salons to
 darken your skin? If you are so
 proud to be white, then why don’t you just be happy
 with your pale skin?  Why do you continue to inject
 your lips, hips, and breasts with unnatural and dangerous
 substances so you can look fuller and more voluptuous?
 
 I think that your anger is really a result of you wanting
 to have what the black woman has.
 
 BOTTOM LINE: If I were looking for a docile woman, someone
 I can walk over and control, I would give you a call. But,
 unfortunately, I am looking for a Virtuous Woman. Someone
 that can be a good wife and mother to my
  children.
 
 Someone who can be my best friend and understands my
 struggles. I am looking for a soul mate. I am looking for a
 sister and; unfortunately,
 you do not and CANNOT fit the bill.
 
 No offense taken, none given.
 
Signed, Black Royalty

 

Never forget….

Chao Bellas,

Besitos Y Brazos

About RejectedThrifts

REcreating, REstyling, and REpurposing the Average Jane's closet one REJECTED piece at a time! View all posts by RejectedThrifts

2 responses to “Article: Call and Response…Lest we forget…

Leave a Reply

