Necessary Conversation


SO…. thanks to a convo I had with @anotherredhead and @JerriodAvant  my blood is really boiling right about now.

Today’s youth always give my heart a somber feeling. Almost like Im not doing enough to protect them from themselves.  Or maybe Im just putting too much pressure on myself. Who knows.

The other day me and RedHead were chilling and we happened upon a convo he had with his all male freshman class. Beginning with a picture like this:

How old do you think they are?

That’s the question he posed to his students. Some replied “20”s maybe?” He tells them that these are high school kids. Maybe 16 or 17. Maybe even as young as 14 and 15.  So I asked him, “at that age who does most of your influence come from?” he says, “your parents” I say “EXACTLY”.  Now keeping with the context of this picture and it’s time in history family dynamics were different then.  Whatever those kids/teens/young adults/adults stood up for is because it was instilled in them on some level from home. STOP sending our kids to school to learn “everything”. What are you doing? Send them to contribute to the learning environment.

Any hoo here’s the convo b/t me and Jerriod:

EpitomeOfLeo Eb

There arnt enough hrs in the day 4 a teacher 2 teach civil rights & sex-ed & things lk that. Attn needs 2 B math, readn, science, & writing

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

tweet was brought 2 u by: MS rep John Moore, R-Brandon, regardn his proposed bill 2 repeal a law 2 teach civil rights history 2 children

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

@EpitomeOfLeo They want skilled workers not independent thinkers, passionate individuals. Dem folk got corporations to fill w/worker bees.

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

@EpitomeOfLeo Can’t have kids gettin’ distracted by the patterns and modus operandi of their kind.lol Shoooood.

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant ha! Sounds like what they just implemented out in arizona before I left. Said the “history” left the kids feeling oppressed

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

Ha! “Oppressed”? “The realest thing you ever wrote!” @EpitomeOfLeo

  EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant that’s what they said….no lie. No black, hispanic, or native american history.

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

In the event that I Father children, it will definitely be a learning environment. EVERYthing is going to be an opportunity. @EpitomeOfLeo

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

I mean EVERYthing, but not without history and context. @EpitomeOfLeo

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant how can u teach writing and mathmatics w/out referin to hyeroglyphics or the mayans and incas or egyptians?

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant writing PERIOD has more history than a little bit. Teachn of one means teachn of it ALL!

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

I think it’s all part of the wash though. America, not just Arizona has so much reconciling to do it’s not funny. @EpitomeOfLeo

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

@EpitomeOfLeo How are you “educating” children when you’re lying to children. Some things should be simple.

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

RT @JerriodAvant: @EpitomeOfLeo You didn’t know America invented writing? You late!!!lol<—dang!!! I’m always late shoooo *kicks can*

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant simplicity quickly becomes difficult when ur tryn to have YOUR way…

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant *sigh* I want my kids to go to public school but with these new “innovative” ideas, home-school is lookn REAL tempting!

EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant I’m seriously debating how much education will I have to withold from my child so they’ll still pay attention in class….

JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

RT @EpitomeOfLeo: @JerriodAvant cuz leave it to me, my child will be ready to teach a class not sit in one…

JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

Yeah. I feel you all too well. I think home schooling will work or a black charter school(preferably all male & all female). @EpitomeOfLeo

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant oh! And not to mention they will be bilingual by age 6. If I can get another one in then they’ll learn that one too!

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

JerriodAvant all male/female? Hmmm….what’s the reasoning for that choice if I may ask?

JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

I think it’s a good look for the boys to be surrounded by their MEN. So that they define themselves. The same for WOMEN. @EpitomeOfLeo

 JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

@EpitomeOfLeo You will have … SUPERkids. Likes a lot! Whole lot!

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant in my experience w/ being arnd other foreign students, they know & speak at least 2 languages. Pls believe english is 1 of’em.

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant I mean not super kids but kids that’ll be an enhancement to society as well as have serious marketability in the workforce

JerriodAvant sevenpoet7

@EpitomeOfLeo See, nowadays, THAT’S a super kid. Bilingual is like … stock or something. You get to tap a totally different arena.

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant want them to have appreciation for all things and understand themselves. #140IsntEnuf

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

@JerriodAvant #longstoryshort “well rounded” individuals…lol. I could go on and on but I may just blog it tomorrow! #140IsntEnuf

 EpitomeOfLeo Eb

RT @JerriodAvant: @EpitomeOfLeo#140IsntEnuf ” I fell off the wagon here …<-alot to say, not enough characters

EpitomeOfLeo Eb

RT @JerriodAvant: @EpitomeOfLeo Ohhh, 140 as in degrees/circle etc. *I must have failed math*

 

I’m praying for my future child(ren)’s future teacher.  I sincerely apologize in advance.  But you’re not gonna hand my child(ren) frog legs and call it a chicken breast and they not know the difference.

Now, here we are with our bachelor’s, master’s, doctorates and we think we’re doing some great service to the powers that be by graduating.  Sitting with our heads high and our degrees hanging higher.  “I’ve got mine, you better get yours” is too often heard by and spoken to our youth.  Correct me if I’m wrong, but you DON’T have it If I dont have it, because as my educator you were supposed to be giving it to me, no?

Shooo….black history month right around the corner and I’m already on my soapbox>>>>> READY!

Questions, Comments, Concerns? Leave a comment….Subscribe via Email.

Chao Bellas,

Besitos y Brazos

About RejectedThrifts

REcreating, REstyling, and REpurposing the Average Jane's closet one REJECTED piece at a time! View all posts by RejectedThrifts

One response to “Necessary Conversation

Leave a Reply

